Reflection for Auto Ethnography

Isabelle Sackett

April 5, 2016

Reflection for Ethnography

 

Purpose of the Remix:

This remix is a parody of country love songs. I hope to show how many country love songs, when you actually take the time to stop and listen to the words, are quite ridiculous. They assume that the person with whom they “fall in love at first sight” also returns their affection. So, I was hoping that this remix would give the two opposing thought processes. The artist singing is in love with the girl, and in return she is thinking about how he better not just be a player like all the rest of the men she has met. The images I choose I hope will show how silly the relationship would look to an outsider—and possibly even to the girl in the song.

 

Topic and how it fits: This particular auto-ethnography is also a remix because I have incorporated a song by Dan+Shay, “Nothin’ Like you,” into a music video using images I found online. For each picture, I choose a line or two from the song “Love Me Like You Mean It” by Kelsea Ballerini. It is an auto-ethnography because I’m remixing a country song, and I enjoy listening to country music—even the sappy love song ones.

Medium: This work is a digital music video.

Process:

This project started off as all my other remix projects have—as an experiment. I wanted to see if it was possible to make a music video using the song “Nothin’ Like You.” I had just been listening to it, and since I was thinking about what to do for my re-mix, I decided to pick that song as the foundation for my remix. After the song was chosen, I still had no idea what I wanted to do with it. I looked around on iMovie for some ideas of how to make a video and found their trailer option which organizes the whole movie for you. I found a picture of a “girl” and one of a “guy” and put them in the appropriate boxes on iMovie. But, I realized that the trailer feature was too restrictive and was not allowing me to be as creative and free as I wanted to do.

Therefore, I started over again on iMovie and used images I found on google. As I searched for images to use, I realized how cliché Dan+Shay are in their song. They say they love her “dancing in the rain” and how she is so unique—but a lot of country songs also boast the same thing about their particular love. So, I decided that I would make a parody. I started picking pictures that were awkward instead of romantically cute. I wanted the audience to laugh and wonder why the singer was falling in love with the girl. I picked the Spiderman picture as the last one because I wanted the idea of a superhero plus a “common girl” at the end. I was parodying the idea that the artist believed himself to be the one for the girl he is in love with. She is kissing a man in a mask—showing that she does not know his true, real self. She has only seen a particular side of him. Also, everyone loves this picture and it make them laugh, so I wanted it also for that reason.

After I had incorporated the images I wanted, I picked a song by Kelsea Ballerini where she is basically telling the “boy” that is interested in her that he better “Love [her] like [he] means it”: he needs to be sincere and follow through with his actions. I tried to pick lyrics for each slide that matched the picture.

Inspiration:

The inspiration for this project came from three songs I like. “Nothin’ Like You” expresses love to a girl “sipping coffee in a corner booth” surrounded by a “stack of books.” I think I liked this song because coffee shops and stacks of books are two of my favorite things. Also, who doesn’t like a love song—even if it is cheesy?

The next song that inspired me was “Love Me Like You Mean It.” In this song, the artist expresses her desire that the “boy with [his] hat back” would truly love and not just play with her.

The last song inspired the ideas of the remix even though I did not include any of the music or lyrics from it. It is called “Girl in Country Song” by Maddie & Tae and and it parodies country songs.

 

 

Works Cited

 

 

Ballerini, Kelsea. “Love Me Like You Mean It.” Online Video Clip. Youtube. Youtube. 6 Mar 2015. Web. 13 Apr 2016

“Best Running Shoes for Flat Feet in 2015 -.” Fitness Best Reviews. Fitness Best Reviews, 08 Sept. 2015. Web. 13 Apr. 2016. http://www.fitnessbestreviews.com/best-running-shoes-for-flat-feet/

“Coffee Shop Employee Wondering What Guy In Dress Clothes Is Doing There For Seven Hours Everyday.” Bookfield Bulletin. WordPress, 18 Jan. 2012. Web. 13 Apr. 2016. https://bookfieldbulletin.wordpress.com/2012/01/18/coffee-shop-employee-wondering-what-guy-in-dress-clothes-is-doing-there-for-seven-hours-everyday/https://bookfieldbulletin.wordpress.com/2012/01/18/coffee-shop-employee-wondering-what-guy-in-dress-clothes-is-doing-there-for-seven-hours-everyday/

Dan+Shay. “Nothin’ Like You.” Online Video Clip. Youtube. Youtube. 1 Apr 2014. Web. 13 Apr 2016

Legs, Cheesy. “Dear Cute Guy in the Coffee Shop.” Five Years and Finally Single. WordPress, 07 Apr. 2014. Web. 13 Apr. 2016. <https://fiveyearsandfinallysingle.wordpress.com/2014/04/08/dear-cute-guy-in-the-coffee-shop/&gt;

Maddie&Tae. “Girl in a Country Song”. Online Video Clip. Youtube. Youtube. 24 Jul 2014. Web. 13 Apr 2016

McCoy, Tracy. “Why First Kisses Matter More Than You Think.” HelloGiggles Why First Kisses Matter More Than You Think Comments. Hello Giggles, 30 May 2014. Web. 13 Apr. 2016. <http://hellogiggles.com/first-kisses-matter-think/&gt;

“Milk and Roses Coffee Bar.” William Park. William Park, n.d. Web. 13 Apr. 2016. <http://images.williamandpark.com/&gt;

“Nekter Juice Bar Photos.” Yelp. Yelp, n.d. Web. 13 Apr. 2016. http://www.yelp.com/biz_photos/nekter-juice-bar-brea?start=30

“Rain – HOLLYWOOD UNDEAD | Publish with Glogster!” Glogster. Glogster, n.d. Web. 13 Apr. 2016. <http://www.glogster.com/cathrenredfurry/rain-hollywood-undead/g-6kjat3jf319e09hhboqi02r&gt;

“Telekinetic Coffee Shop Surprise for Carrie – The Inspiration Room.” The Inspiration Room. N.p., 08 Oct. 2013. Web. 13 Apr. 2016. <http://theinspirationroom.com/daily/2013/telekinetic-coffee-shop-surprise-for-carrie/&gt;

“Woman with a Candle.” Woman with a Candle #6. N.p., n.d. Web. 13 Apr. 2016. <http://www.myartprints.co.uk/a/demurez/womanwithacandle6.html&gt;

izzie-signature

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

