Reflection for Ethnography

Isabelle Sackett

April 13, 2016

Reflection for Ethnography

Purpose of the Remix:

I wanted to make this remix of the Industrial Revolution because this is a time period that interests me greatly. I wanted my audience to learn about the Revolution through the lenses of what interested me the most about this time in the history of England—the arts and literature. I also wanted the viewers to see how the Industrial Revolution affected people and relationships—it was not something that was abstract or a great un-affecting event. Rather, friends were on opposite sides of the system. There was profound tension.

Topic and how it fits:

This is an ethnography because I am representing a group to which I do not belong.

Medium: Digital. I made a movie using iMovie on my Mac.

Process:

This ethnography is tied with the self-portrait for most remakes. (I suppose that it fitting since this is a remix…) I wanted to do the Industrial Revolution, and then I thought that would be too difficult, so I picked something “easier.” I decided since I had so many engineering major friends, I would “remix” them. However, I really did not like what I came up with, and I think that I did it mostly out of stress. Once I had a project done, even though I did not like it, I was able to think about what I really wanted to do. I just had to put something down.

After I made that ethnography, I went back to my original desire of doing something for the Industrial Revolution. I knew I wanted to include parts of one of my favorite movies, North and South. I found the episodes on YouTube and downloaded them onto my Mac, slowing down the functioning capacities of it tremendously!

Since this is a remix, I knew that it needed to have multiple components. So, I thought about what else I wanted to include. The pictures that I chose were ones that I thought portrayed how terrible the working conditions were. I wanted my audience to react to these pictures with compassion. I wanted them to see how horrible the environment was for the factory workers.

Not only did I want to portray the pictures and movie, but I also wanted viewers to get a glimpse into the darker sort of literature that was written during this time. William Blake has some very dark and depressing poetry, so I chose one of his that is especially directed to the idea of a factory being a machine and a terrifying animal.

Once I had all the materials I wanted, I started to make the movie. I used North and South and the foundation, “anchor text,” and I cut it up into sections and reorganized some of the clips. While I wanted to show the class struggle, I also wanted to portray the love story of a master and a girl from the South. She is friends with the working class and is caught between her love for Mr. Thornton and her working friends. I decided that bookending the film with the love story would be a good way to tie it all together. Then I cut in the pictures and poem.

I wanted to end with a little bit of nature to show the next great cultural movement—naturalism. I wanted to do this to show the hope and not leave the movie with a depressing ending. While I am sure that many people living during this time felt very dark and depressed, I wanted to show the dawn of the new period.

Works Cited

Blake, William. “Tyger.” Short Poems. WordPress, n.d. Web. 14 Apr. 2016.

Borrow, Mandy. “Landscape of England.” Resources.woodlands. 2013. Web. 26 Apr. 2016.

“Lewis Hine, Children Changing Bobbins in Textile Mill.” Flickr. Yahoo!, 3 July 2005. Web. 14 Apr. 2016. https://www.flickr.com/photos/foxtongue/23281044

“North & South BBC 2004 Ep2.” YouTube. YouTube, 28 Nov. 2015. Web. 14 Apr. 2016.

“North & South BBC 2004 Ep4.” YouTube. YouTube, 02 Dec. 2015. Web. 14 Apr. 2016.

“North and South -Mr. Thornton and Miss Hale.” YouTube. YouTube, 28 July 2010. Web. 14 Apr. 2016.

“North & South Soundtrack-Northbound Train.” YouTube. YouTube, 24 Feb. 2013. Web. 14 Apr. 2016.

izzie-signature

 

 

Leave a Reply

