Hello From the Other Side

I picked this one because I liked the transformation I noticed in my understanding of remix.

[So, at the beginning of the semester, one of my titles was a play off of Adele’s song, and I thought it only fitting to continue that by ending with one….]

In order to answer the question for this week, I had to go back and read what I had originally thought that remix was. While I actually really like that post, I think that after 16 weeks of experience, I feel a little more comfortable with remix and it doesn’t seem as “new” as I had originally thought it was.

By “new” I mean a new form of art. As the semester has progressed, I have learned that remixing materials is something that we have done forever. It actually makes me wonder why we discuss it because it seems like almost a natural occurrence…like breathing in air or drinking water. Sometimes materials seem to naturally be remixed together, and other times it is more intentional.

To briefly discuss both of these things, I want to first consider intentional remixing. An example of this would be Once Upon A Time or Friends or something of that nature. Something which obviously draws upon something older. It is presented in a different way. I think an interesting question that can be asked because of this is: why are they remixing Old Text A to create New Text B? What is being said here? When the remixing is done so overtly and intentionally, I think that an interesting question can be asked of the creator of New Text B. Why did they want to remix the Old Text A?

However, I think a slightly different question can be asked when the remixing is more unintentional. I think this speaks to the worth and value and cultural acceptance of Old Text A almost more than it begs the question “why did you remix this Old Text A” of the creator. Does that make sense? The clearest example I can think of here is how a lot of religions’ texts, the Quran and the Book of Mormon, for example,  aresimilar in certain ways to the Bible. This, I would argue, begs the question, “How (and why) is the Bible so often ‘remixed’ into other religions’ sacred text?”

Because I have a deeper understanding of remix now, I am able to think more thoughtfully about the implications of remix, and not just about what is remix. At the beginning of the semester, I was too overwhelmed with trying to formulate a definition and was not able to think about what remix can do and what it can mean.

izzie signature

Leave a Reply

